top of page
PHOTOcentric (2).png


Hiding in Plain Sight

December 9, 2023 - January 7, 2024

Opening Reception: December 9, 5 - 7 pm 

The 2023 PHOTOcentric theme is Hiding in Plain Sight: 

We expect photography to preserve what we see in the world, yet it often shows us what is rarely seen or invisible. Photographers are invited to consider how their medium captures what is hiding in plain sight. This might include subjects as wide-ranging as social bonds, experiences behind closed doors, natural phenomena, or structural inequity. What are the stakes of making the invisible visible through photography?

Awards: 1st Place in 3 categories: $250, Grand Prize: $500


Awards will be granted across three distinct categories: Formation & Becoming, Disintegration & Dissolving, and Survival & Remembering. Brier selected the categories retroactively upon viewing and jurying submitted works. Winners will be announced at the opening reception on Saturday, December 9, 5 - 7 pm.

This year’s juror, Jessica Brier (she/her) is a curator and historian of art and design with a focus on the intermediality of photography, print, graphics, and architecture. She currently serves as Curator of Photography at the Frances Lehman Loeb Art Center, Vassar College. She has previously held positions at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Headlands Center for the Arts, and Robert Mapplethorpe Foundation. She holds a Ph.D. in art history and Visual Studies Graduate Certificate from the University of Southern California, an MA in curatorial practice from the California College of the Arts, and a BA from NYU's Gallatin School of Individualized Study.


Participating Artists

Tara Abadir

Jim Allen

Ralph Anderson

Gabriel Yuri

Jody Borhani

Robert Brush

Ariel Bullion Ecklund

Mark Coggins

Andrew Courtney

Shari Diamond

Mayara Farias Cabral 

Teri Figliuzzi

Joann Flaherty

Arthur Frank

Jeffrey Friedkin

David Garland

Mary Ann Glass

Dan Goldman

Charise Isis

Isik Kaya

Paula Kelly

Donald Kratt

Gia Leigh

Christopher Manning

Victor Messick

Kohar Minassian

RJ Muna

Daniel Neiman

Blaze Nowara

Susan Obrant

Denise M Oehl

Robert Oehl

Marcelino Pagan

Karen Parashkevov

Natalia Petkov

Tad Philipp

Susan Phillips

Melissa Schlobohm

Caroline Siemers

Matthew Sims

Jane Soodalter

Dafna Steinberg

Linda Stillman

Miroslav Vrzala

Dushka Vujovic

Michael Washburn

Dirk Westphal

Yuko Yogo

bottom of page